The oldest park in the Prefecture of Osaka, the Sumiyoshi Park was opened for the public in the 19 th century in the year 1873 and, till this day, the place retains some of its old world flavor and is extremely popular with people who drop in from all over the world. The Sumiyoshi Park is also referred to as the Stone Monument to Basho. It is a testament to the famous haiku poet, Basho Matsuo, who lived in the latter half of the 17 th century.
In front of the Park office along the Shiokake Road stands the tombstone to the poet whose absence has given rise to the haiku that ends in a rhyme. The poet Basho had embarked on a travel around the vicinities of Osaka in his old age and passed away at a house in front of the Minami-Mido temple. With a history spanning centuries, the Shiokakemichi or the road that leads to Shiokake through the center of the Sumiyoshi Park was once the path to the Sumiyoshi Taisha Shrine.
A visit to the Sumiyoshi Park will make the traveler fall into reminiscence of the olden times as they take a walk leisurely around the garden. The stretch of land includes a natural park, with a green tract and sites meant for natural recreation. Located at 1-1-13 Hamaguchi-Higashi, Suminoe-ku, the park is accessible through the Sumiyoshi Taisha Station on the Nankai Main Line or the Sumiyoshi-toriimae Station on the Hankai Tramway Hankai Line.
Stop over at the Sumiyoshi Park, Osaka for a spiritual retreat in tranquility and veneration.